XX

Nine Budde
Barbara Hammer
Exhibition
7/6 — 6/7 2017
Opening
6/6 2017 7pm
XX is both double exposure and crossing of two narratives. The exhibition brings together two female artists of different generations who have come to feminism in very different ways, times and places, yet share many aspects underlying their practices. Both are equipped with a strong-minded sense for female independency, for emotions and for the spirit to performatively connect their body and language with a self-proclaimed femininity.

Barbara Hammer began to work as an artist and filmmaker in the late 60s, Nine Budde in the late 90s. Their early works are marked by a similar sense of humor and tactics of role-play and performative gestures towards a queer re-reading of sexual and political histories. In later years, both deal intimately with notions of death and sickness, at the same time devoting themselves to making documentary films that revisit cultural historical biographies.

The exhibition is an hommage to a shared and mutual understanding between different generations of female artists. It also reminds us how many of the issues and questions that Barbara Hammer addressed in her early 70s and 80s film and video works are still as relevant today as they were back then. A virtual correspondence between two friends who never met, an experiment to let their artworks speak with each other and collectively for themselves.

Curated by Jens and Kai Maier-Rothe.
Text by Jens Maier-Rothe.

LA VOITURE EMBOURBÉE

FUTURE NOW! —03 POLITICS OF DIGITAL MASHINES

FUTURE NOW! —03 POLITICS OF DIGITAL MASHINES

PARTY PARTICLES

0FF5N0FF

0FF5N0FF

XX

ESSAY AS A STATE OF MIND

FUTURE NOW!
—02
BORDER, BARRIER, BARRICADE?

FUTURE NOW!—02
BORDER, BARRIER, BARRICADE?

FAST NEW HAUTE, MARGARINE.

KLASSENFAHRT ATHENS

0FF4N0FF

0FF4N0FF

FUTURE NOW!
—01
THE FUTURE OF WORK

FUTURE NOW!
—01
THE FUTURE OF WORK

NOTATIONS OF MOVEMENT

GARDEN OF DESIRES

ATHENS @ MEMPHIS

0FF3N0FF

AIRY PHANTOMS

0FF2N0FF

0FF2N0FF

WHAT THE HELL IS UP TO US?

PARALLAXE 12

LONGING IS INCURABLE

PARALLAXE 11

0FF1N0FF

PARALLAXE 10

PRETTY STRAIGHT FORWARD

THE CITY AND ME

WIR SIND DA.ZUMINDEST ERINNERN WIR UNS DARAN.

PARALLAXE 9

IMMUTABLE MOBILES

PARALLAXE 8

PARALLAXE 7

PARALLAXE 6

PARALLAXE 5

PARALLAXE 4

GENERATIONENPFADE – NEREDEN NEREYE

PARALLAXE 3

CONCERT II: PERMANENT EXPEDITION

CONCERT I:PERMANENT EXPEDITION

PERMANENT EXPEDITION

HOHE TÜRME TRIFFT DER BLITZ

PARALLAXE 2

TELEFUNKEN BAJAZZO

SOUNDWWWALK

WITH ANONYMOUS & OTHERS

PARALLAXE 1

ADSR

XX

Nine Budde
Barbara Hammer
Ausstellung
7/6 — 6/7 2017
Eröffnung
6/6 2017 19h
XX ist beides, Doppelbelichtung und Kreuzung zweier Narrative. Die Ausstellung vereint generationsübergreifend zwei Künstler*innen, die in sehr unterschiedlichen Zeiten, Orten und Weisen zum Feminismus gekommen sind und dennoch viele Aspekte in ihren Arbeiten teilen. Beide sind ausgestattet mit einem willensstarken Sinn für weibliche Unabhängigkeit, für Emotionen und den Geist, performativ ihre Körper und Sprache mit einer selbstentworfenen Feminität zu verbinden.

Barbara Hammer ist seit den späten 60er Jahren als Künstlerin aktiv, Nine Budde seit den späten 90ern. Ihre frühen Arbeiten sind geprägt von einem ähnlichen Sinn für humorvolle Rollenspiele und performative Gesten hin zu einem queeren Neudenken und Neulesen sexueller und politischer Geschichte(n). Später setzen sich beide auf intime Weise mit Tod und Krankheit auseinander und widmen sich parallel in Dokumentarfilmen dem Neuerzählen kulturhistorischer Biografien.

Die Ausstellung ist eine Hommage an ein gemeinsames und gegenseitiges Verständnis verschiedener Generationen weiblicher Künstler. Gleichzeitig erinnert sie daran, wie viele Anliegen und Fragen, mit denen sich Barbara Hammer in ihren frühen Film- und Videoarbeiten der 70er und 80er Jahre auseinandersetzte, heute noch immer so relevant sind wie damals. Ein fiktiver Briefwechsel zwischen zwei Freunden, die sich nie begegnet sind und der Versuch, ihre Kunstwerke miteinander und gemeinsam für sich selbst sprechen zu lassen.

Text: Jens Maier-Rothe

XX

ESSAY AS A STATE OF MIND

ZUKUNFT JETZT!
—02
GRENZEN, BARRIEREN, BARRIKADEN?

ZUKUNFT JETZT!
—02
GRENZEN, BARRIEREN, BARRIKADEN?

FAST NUR HAUT, MARGARINE.

KLASSENFAHRT ATHEN

0FF4N0FF

0FF4N0FF

ZUKUNFT JETZT!
—01
DIE ZUKUNFT DER ARBEIT

ZUKUNFT JETZT!
—01
DIE ZUKUNFT DER ARBEIT

BEWEGUNGSNOTATIONEN

GARDEN OF DESIRES

ATHENS @ MEMPHIS

0FF3N0FF

WESENLOSE PHANTOME

0FF2N0FF

WHAT THE HELL IS UP TO US?

PARALLAXE 12

SEHNSUCHT IST HEILBAR

PARALLAXE 11

0FF1N0FF

PARALLAXE 10

PRETTY STRAIGHT FORWARD

THE CITY AND ME

WIR SIND DA. ZUMINDEST ERINNERN WIR UNS DARAN.

PARALLAXE 9

IMMUTABLE MOBILES

PARALLAXE 8

PARALLAXE 7

PARALLAXE 6

PARALLAXE 5

PARALLAXE 4

GENERATIONENPFADE – NEREDEN NEREYE

PARALLAXE 3

KONZERT II: PERMANENT EXPEDITION

KONZERT I: PERMANENT EXPEDITION

PERMANENT EXPEDITION

HOHE TÜRME TRIFFT DER BLITZ

PARALLAXE 2

ʒuːɐ̯ ˈfiks 2

ʒuːɐ̯ ˈfiks 1SOUNDWWWALK

WITH ANONYMOUS & OTHERS

PARALLAXE 1

ADSR