AIRY PHANTOMS

Stephan Lugbauer
Jakob Dietrich & Kai Maier-Rothe
Nora Jacobs
Pascal Petignat & Martin Scholz
Exhibition
14/12 2016 — 12/1 2017
Opening
13/12 2016 7pm
Performance
13/12 2016 8pm
Originally borrowed from Anglo-French language (fantosme), the lexical term “phantom” is used in English since the late 16th century and presumably since the 18th century in German. Correspondent to ancient Greek φάντασμα (phantasma), the notion is synonymous with phenomenon, illusion, chimera and alike. In medicine phantom pain is a common expression for a pain that an individual experiences, relating to a limb or an organ that is not physically part of the body, e.g. due to amputation. The indian philosophy of Vedanta even considers the whole world as a phantom (Maya), disguising infinite wisdom.

Hence, a phantom is something that is not present, but appears to be, and thus always refers to a boundary towards something other and ulterior. The simultaneity of the initiation of the term “phantom” into common western european language with the dawn of modern age respectively modernity is no coincidence, for the modern constitution, as a mode of classification and mapping the world, is after all defined by the organization of lines of demarcation. This mode relies on a positivism in the description of the world: the imagination of a negative as a result of division. The cultural particularity of notably modernity derives from the naturalization of this divisive practice. And according to Bruno Latour, this division of nature and culture, and the subsequent purification of the two domains of subjects on the one side, and things on the other, is only possible by a repression of the middle ground, the mediation that connects subjects and objects in multiple forms:

“Everything happens in the middle, everything passes between the two, everything happens by way of mediation, translation and networks, but this place does not exist, it has no place. It is unthinkable, the unconscious of the modern.”
(Bruno Latour, We Have Never Been Modern, Cambridge, MA: Harvard University Press, 1993, 37)

The exhibition Airy Phantoms interrogates this practice of division and negation, and reveals how we conceptualize and implement it on a daily routine. The displayed works bring the naturalized and seemingly determined position of the subject out of center, and oscillate the subject-object constellation.

Nora Jacobs
Stephan Lugbauer
Pascal Petignat & Martin Scholz

0FF5N0FF

0FF5N0FF

XX

ESSAY AS A STATE OF MIND

FUTURE NOW!
—02
BORDER, BARRIER, BARRICADE?

FUTURE NOW!
—02
BORDER, BARRIER, BARRICADE?

FAST NEW HAUTE, MARGARINE.

KLASSENFAHRT ATHENS

0FF4N0FF

0FF4N0FF

FUTURE NOW!
—01
THE FUTURE OF WORK

FUTURE NOW!
—01
THE FUTURE OF WORK

NOTATIONS OF MOVEMENT

GARDEN OF DESIRES

ATHENS @ MEMPHIS

0FF3N0FF

AIRY PHANTOMS

0FF2N0FF

0FF2N0FF

WHAT THE HELL IS UP TO US?

PARALLAXE 12

LONGING IS INCURABLE

PARALLAXE 11

0FF1N0FF

PARALLAXE 10

PRETTY STRAIGHT FORWARD

THE CITY AND ME

WIR SIND DA.ZUMINDEST ERINNERN WIR UNS DARAN.

PARALLAXE 9

IMMUTABLE MOBILES

PARALLAXE 8

PARALLAXE 7

PARALLAXE 6

PARALLAXE 5

PARALLAXE 4

GENERATIONENPFADE – NEREDEN NEREYE

PARALLAXE 3

CONCERT II: PERMANENT EXPEDITION

CONCERT I:PERMANENT EXPEDITION

PERMANENT EXPEDITION

HOHE TÜRME TRIFFT DER BLITZ

PARALLAXE 2

TELEFUNKEN BAJAZZO

SOUNDWWWALK

WITH ANONYMOUS & OTHERS

PARALLAXE 1

ADSR

WESENLOSE PHANTOME

Stephan Lugbauer
Jakob Dietrich & Kai Maier-Rothe
Nora Jacobs
Pascal Petignat & Martin Scholz
Ausstellung
14/12 2016 — 12/1 2017
Eröffnung
13/12 2016 19h
Performance
13/12 2016 20h
Dem Anglo-Französischen (fantosme) entlehnt, wird der lexikalische Ausdruck Phantom seit dem späten 16. Jahrhundert im Englischen und vermutlich seit dem 18. Jahrhundert im Deutschen verwendet. Analog zum altgriechischen φάντασμα (phantasma) ist der Begriff Synonym für Erscheinung, Trugbild, Schimäre und dergleichen. Aus der Medizin bekannt ist der sogenannte Phantomschmerz als ein Schmerz in einem Körperteil, das nicht mehr physischer Bestandteil des Körpers ist, z.B. durch Amputation. Die indische Philosophie des Vedanta betrachtet gar die ganze Welt als Phantom (Maya), das höheres Wissen verschleiert.

Ein Phantom ist also etwas was nicht da ist, aber so erscheint als ob es da ist, und verweist damit immer auch auf eine Grenze zu etwas anderem, jenseitigem. Die Simultanität zwischen einerseits dem Eingang des Begriffs „Phantom“ in europäische Sprachen und andererseits dem Beginn der Neuzeit bzw. der Moderne ist kein Zufall, ist die neuzeitliche oder moderne Konstitution als ein Modus der Klassifizierung und Kartierung der Welt doch bestimmt durch die Organisation von Demarkationslinien. Diesem Modus liegt eine positivistische Beschreibung der Welt zugrunde: die Imagination eines Negativs als Resultat von Teilung. Die kulturelle Besonderheit insbesondere der Moderne besteht in der Naturalisierung dieser Praxis der Trennung. Und laut Bruno Latour ist die Trennung von Natur und Kultur und die sich daraus ergebende kategoriale Unterscheidung zwischen einerseits Subjekten und andererseits Objekten nur möglich durch die Negation der Mitte, die Subjekte und Objekte in mannigfaltiger Weise verbindet:

„Alles spielt sich in der Mitte ab, alles passiert zwischen den beiden Polen, alles geschieht durch Vermittlung, Übersetzung und Netze, aber dieser Ort in der Mitte existiert nicht, dafür ist kein Platz vorgesehen. Hier liegt das Ungedachte, das Unbewußte der Moderne.“
(Bruno Latour, Wir sind nie modern gewesen, Ffm: Suhrkamp, 2008, S.53)

Die Ausstellung Wesenlose Phantome untersucht diese Praxis der Teilung und Negation, und legt offen, wie wir sie konzeptualisieren und alltäglich unbewußt implementieren. Die hier versammelten Arbeiten dezentrieren die naturalisierte und scheinbar festgelegte Subjektposition und bringen die Subjekt-Objekt-Konstellation zum Oszillieren.

Nora Jacobs
Stephan Lugbauer
Pascal Petignat & Martin Scholz

PARTY PARTICLES

0FF5N0FF

0FF5N0FF

XX

ESSAY AS A STATE OF MIND

ZUKUNFT JETZT!
—02
GRENZEN, BARRIEREN, BARRIKADEN?

ZUKUNFT JETZT!
—02
GRENZEN, BARRIEREN, BARRIKADEN?

FAST NUR HAUT, MARGARINE.

KLASSENFAHRT ATHEN

0FF4N0FF

0FF4N0FF

ZUKUNFT JETZT!
—01
DIE ZUKUNFT DER ARBEIT

ZUKUNFT JETZT!
—01
DIE ZUKUNFT DER ARBEIT

BEWEGUNGSNOTATIONEN

GARDEN OF DESIRES

ATHENS @ MEMPHIS

0FF3N0FF

WESENLOSE PHANTOME

0FF2N0FF

0FF2N0FF

WHAT THE HELL IS UP TO US?

PARALLAXE 12

SEHNSUCHT IST HEILBAR

PARALLAXE 11

0FF1N0FF

PARALLAXE 10

PRETTY STRAIGHT FORWARD

THE CITY AND ME

WIR SIND DA. ZUMINDEST ERINNERN WIR UNS DARAN.

PARALLAXE 9

IMMUTABLE MOBILES

PARALLAXE 8

PARALLAXE 7

PARALLAXE 6

PARALLAXE 5

PARALLAXE 4

GENERATIONENPFADE – NEREDEN NEREYE

PARALLAXE 3

KONZERT II: PERMANENT EXPEDITION

KONZERT I:PERMANENT EXPEDITION

PERMANENT EXPEDITION

HOHE TÜRME TRIFFT DER BLITZ

PARALLAXE 2

TELEFUNKEN BAJAZZO

SOUNDWWWALK

WITH ANONYMOUS & OTHERS

PARALLAXE 1

ADSR