DIVING IN: An Inquiry into Imagery

Curated by Anamarija Batista
Exhibition
27/11 — 10/12 2019
Opening
26/11 2019 7:30pm
The selected works examine image production and the roles of visual representation and its reception from various perspectives. By incorporating different methodological approaches they create immersive imagery, drawing attention to the role of the visual in constructing their material and social dimensions

With her self-constructed photographic apparatus Agnieszka Kozłowska wanders through the thermal areas of Switzerland and exposes light-sensitised mineral sediments from the spring waters directly in the camera to form images of the landscape. Eriz Moreno delves deep into Yugoslavian documentary materials and its mechanisms of representation. Nika Rukavina develops a performance piece in reference to the quote by Colin Moore: “We’re probably touched by hundreds of images every day, all propaganda of one kind or another. Propaganda has helped define our lives, and it’s everywhere now: we just don’t call it propaganda.” She examines how images are received and read or, more precisely, how their rapid distribution and, in many cases, inadequate contextualization affect the perceptive capacities of their recipients. Yara Mekawei explores systems of thought of medieval Sufism by means of numerical codification. She transforms a text by Mansur Al Hallaj into sound material and a series of analog and digital image forms. With the help of the photographic act of portraying, Đejmi Hadrović’s work “Zahida is a Feminist” draws the viewers’ attention to the simplified understanding of women’s positions in rural regions of the Balkans within the Western feminist canon. Chong-Ha Peter Lee’s work deals with junctions and interrelations between, on the one hand, imaginary spaces that are created through the use of new technologies and, on the other hand, the forms of movement produced by the human body.

All artists presently participate or have previously participated in the Artists-in-Residence Programme, organized by KulturKontakt Austria and the Federal Chancellery of Austria. The exhibition is produced in cooperation with the Artists-in-Residence Programme of the Federal Chancellery and KulturKontakt Austria.

KINE — The Movies Had That Movie Thing

DIVING IN: An Inquiry into Imagery

FRIENDLY FIRE

STUCK KEYS

MEMPHIS at Parallel Vienna

WRITING ABOUT ART

FRAGILE NARRATIVES

LEAN

BELLADONNA

REUNION

THINGS. ON OBJECTS AND SIGNS

LISTENING SESSION – A MOMENT IN ECHO PARK

A MOMENT IN ECHO PARK

TOGETHER, ANYWAY III

TOGETHER, ANYWAY II

TOGETHER, ANYWAY I

TOGETHER, ANYWAY

0FF8N0FF – Concerts

0FF8N0FF – Spaces Alive #abstract

IN CASE OF UNCERTAINTY

SERVICE UNAVAILABLE

SHIFTING BASELINES

0FF7N0FF

SINGLE KEYS

DUST TAPE VOICE

0FF6N0FF

WHISPERING MIMICRY

SENA BAŞÖZ
LISA TRUTTMANN

LA VOITURE EMBOURBÉE

FUTURE NOW! —
POLITICS OF DIGITAL MASHINES

FUTURE NOW! —
POLITICS OF DIGITAL MASHINES

PARTY PARTICLES

0FF5N0FF

0FF5N0FF

XX

ESSAY AS A STATE OF MIND

FUTURE NOW! —
BORDER, BARRIER, BARRICADE?

FUTURE NOW! —
BORDER, BARRIER, BARRICADE?

FAST NEW HAUTE, MARGARINE.

KLASSENFAHRT ATHENS

0FF4N0FF

0FF4N0FF

FUTURE NOW! —
THE FUTURE OF WORK

FUTURE NOW! —
THE FUTURE OF WORK

NOTATIONS OF MOVEMENT

GARDEN OF DESIRES

ATHENS @ MEMPHIS

0FF3N0FF

AIRY PHANTOMS

0FF2N0FF

0FF2N0FF

WHAT THE HELL IS UP TO US?

PARALLAXE 12

LONGING IS INCURABLE

PARALLAXE 11

0FF1N0FF

PARALLAXE 10

PRETTY STRAIGHT FORWARD

THE CITY AND ME

WIR SIND DA.ZUMINDEST ERINNERN WIR UNS DARAN.

PARALLAXE 9

IMMUTABLE MOBILES

PARALLAXE 8

PARALLAXE 7

PARALLAXE 6

PARALLAXE 5

PARALLAXE 4

GENERATIONENPFADE – NEREDEN NEREYE

PARALLAXE 3

CONCERT II: PERMANENT EXPEDITION

CONCERT I:PERMANENT EXPEDITION

PERMANENT EXPEDITION

HOHE TÜRME TRIFFT DER BLITZ

PARALLAXE 2

TELEFUNKEN BAJAZZO

SOUNDWWWALK

WITH ANONYMOUS & OTHERS

PARALLAXE 1

ADSR

DIVING IN: An Inquiry into Imagery

Kuratiert von Anamarija Batista
Ausstellung
27/11 — 10/12 2019
Eröffnung
26/11 2019 19:30h
Die in der Ausstellung gezeigten Positionen beleuchten aus verschiedenen Perspektiven Fragen der Bildproduktion bzw. ihrer Repräsentation und Rezeption. Sie kreieren immersive Bildwelten unter Einbeziehen unterschiedlicher methodologischer Ansätze, die zugleich auf die visuelle Konstruktion ihres materiellen und sozialen Feldes aufmerksam machen.

Mit einer von ihr selbst entwickelten Fotoapparatur wandert Agnieszka Kozlowska durch die Thermengegend der Schweiz, und setzt dort vorgefundenes mineralisches Sediment als zeichnerisches Element ihrer Bilder ein. Eriz Moreno taucht tief in das jugoslawische Dokumentarmaterial mitsamt seinen Repräsentationsmechanismen ein. Nika Rukavina stellt, Colin Moore zitierend („We’re probably touched by hundreds of images every day, all propaganda of one kind or another. Propaganda has helped define our lives, and it’s everywhere now: we just don’t call it propaganda“), in ihrer Performance die Frage, wie Bilder rezipiert und gelesen werden bzw. wie ihre schnelle Verbreitung und in vielen Fällen unzureichende Kontextualisierung sich auf Wahrnehmungsfähigkeit der Rezipienten auswirken. Yara Mekawei erforscht die Denkmechanismen des mittelalterlichen Sufismus, indem sie einen Text von Mansour Al Hallaj mittels numerischer Kodifizierung zunächst in Klangmaterial und in Folge in analoge und digitale Formate transformiert. Mit Hilfe ihres photographischen Aktes des Porträtierens lenkt Đejmi Hadrović in ihrer Arbeit „Zahida is a Feminist“ die Aufmerksamkeit der Betracher*innen auf die vereinfachte Darstellung von Frauen in den ländlichen Regionen des Balkans innerhalb des westlichen feministischen Kanons. Chong-Ha Peter Lees Arbeit verhandelt Wechselbeziehungen zwischen einerseits durch Einsatz neuer Technologien kreierten Räumen und andererseits jenen, die durch die Bewegungschoreographien des menschlichen Körpers erzeugt werden.

Die Künstler*innen nehmen z.Zt. an dem von KulturKontakt Austria und dem Bundeskanzleramt organisierten Artists-in-Residence-Programm teil oder haben daran teilgenommen. Die Ausstellung findet im Rahmen des Artists in Residence Programms in Kooperation mit dem Bundeskanzleramt und KulturKontakt Austria statt.

KINE — The Movies Had That Movie Thing

DIVING IN: An Inquiry into Imagery

FRIENDLY FIRE

STUCK KEYS

MEMPHIS at Parallel Vienna

ÜBER KUNST SCHREIBEN

FRAGILE NARRATIVES

LEAN

BELLADONNA

REUNION

THINGS. VON DINGEN UND ZEICHEN

LISTENING SESSION – A MOMENT IN ECHO PARK

A MOMENT IN ECHO PARK

HAUPTSACHE GEMEINSAM III

HAUPTSACHE GEMEINSAM II

HAUPTSACHE GEMEINSAM I

HAUPTSACHE GEMEINSAM

0FF8N0FF – Concerts

0FF8N0FF – Spaces Alive #abstract

IN CASE OF UNCERTAINTY

SERVICE UNAVAILABLE

SHIFTING BASELINES

0FF7N0FF

SINGLE KEYS

DUST TAPE VOICE

0FF6N0FF

WHISPERING MIMICRY

SENA BAŞÖZ
LISA TRUTTMANN

DIE KUTSCHE IM SCHLAMM

ZUKUNFT JETZT! —
POLITIK DER DIGITALEN MASCHINEN

ZUKUNFT JETZT! —
POLITIK DER DIGITALEN MASCHINEN

PARTY PARTICLES

0FF5N0FF

0FF5N0FF

XX

ESSAY AS A STATE OF MIND

ZUKUNFT JETZT! —
GRENZEN, BARRIEREN, BARRIKADEN?

ZUKUNFT JETZT! —
GRENZEN, BARRIEREN, BARRIKADEN?

FAST NUR HAUT, MARGARINE.

KLASSENFAHRT ATHEN

0FF4N0FF

0FF4N0FF

ZUKUNFT JETZT! —
DIE ZUKUNFT DER ARBEIT

ZUKUNFT JETZT! —
DIE ZUKUNFT DER ARBEIT

BEWEGUNGSNOTATIONEN

GARDEN OF DESIRES

ATHENS @ MEMPHIS

0FF3N0FF

WESENLOSE PHANTOME

0FF2N0FF

0FF2N0FF

WHAT THE HELL IS UP TO US?

PARALLAXE 12

SEHNSUCHT IST HEILBAR

PARALLAXE 11

0FF1N0FF

PARALLAXE 10

PRETTY STRAIGHT FORWARD

THE CITY AND ME

WIR SIND DA. ZUMINDEST ERINNERN WIR UNS DARAN.

PARALLAXE 9

IMMUTABLE MOBILES

PARALLAXE 8

PARALLAXE 7

PARALLAXE 6

PARALLAXE 5

PARALLAXE 4

GENERATIONENPFADE – NEREDEN NEREYE

PARALLAXE 3

KONZERT II: PERMANENT EXPEDITION

KONZERT I:PERMANENT EXPEDITION

PERMANENT EXPEDITION

HOHE TÜRME TRIFFT DER BLITZ

PARALLAXE 2

TELEFUNKEN BAJAZZO

SOUNDWWWALK

WITH ANONYMOUS & OTHERS

PARALLAXE 1

ADSR