Memphis Editions


Exhibition
23/9 — 2/10 2020
Opening
22/9 2020 7pm
As a place for open communication and discussion, the art and project space Memphis has been offering artists, filmmakers, theorists and authors a space for critical examination of contemporary culture in Linz since 2014.

We are now very happy to announce the first artist editions exclusively created for Memphis by Isabella Auer, Sarah Decristoforo, Rainer Gamsjäger, Robert Müller, Ulrich Nausner and Estefania Peñafiel Loaiza. The editions are designed to support the Memphis art space and will be available for purchase.

Isabella Auer is a media artist living and working in Linz. She discovered her interest in flashy animated GIFs and pixel explosions during her time as part of the Spanish artist collective “Hungry Castle”. Her works range from videos and animations to interactive installations, often with a focus on pop-cultural themes.

Through the artistic processing of mass-medial imagery Sarah Decristoforo addresses political and social problems and thereby sensitizes the perception of the viewer. The strategy of camouflage, the shift in context, the dialectics of outside and inside, the preoccupation with the everyday violence and working with existing materials and patterns characterize the work of Sarah Decristoforo.

Rainer Gamsjäger is dealing with video and photography on structural levels. He deconstructs and decomposes digital images into their smallest units, in order to re-arrange them using algorithms by specially programmed software and to unveil abstract image contents. As source material, Gamsjäger uses iconic images of actresses from the “Golden Age” of Hollywood cinema, photographs from NASA space telescopes high-resolution landscape images.

In Robert Müller’s works, the references to the adaptation of someone else‘s handwriting and the transfer of a performative gesture are converted into a schematic, shaky model of identity. This leads to the serial conversion of the drawing practice of others and to the illustration of alternative, fictional CVs as a kind of graphic love letter.

In his conceptual works and installations, Ulrich Nausner deals with patterns of perception and the meaningful connections between information and language in various media. His works are represented in international solo and group exhibitions, he lives and works in Vienna.

Estefania Peñafiel Loaiza has constructed her work around the tension between the visible and the invisible, between appropriation and subversion. She works with different languages and media, based on changes in her own geographical location, she contextualizes concepts such as territory, cartography, migration, frontiers, memory and history in her artistic practice.

Due to the safety precautions to contain the spread of COVID-19, we are not holding an opening party, but instead invite you to a preview in the art space from 7:00 p.m. to 10:00 p.m. before the start of the official duration of the exhibition. According to the regulations in force from September 21, 2020, entry of the art space is only possible for 10 people at the same time and only with mouth and nose protection. In addition to the premises, the backyard will be open.

Memphis Light Box Extra

Memphis Editions

A Centre Cannot Hold — Jason Hendrik Hansma

Memphis Stream: Axel Stockburger

Carrara Corso – Finissage

Carrara Corso

Pas le temps d’être triste

KINE — The Movies Had That Movie Thing

DIVING IN: An Inquiry into Imagery

FRIENDLY FIRE

STUCK KEYS

MEMPHIS at Parallel Vienna

WRITING ABOUT ART

FRAGILE NARRATIVES

LEAN

BELLADONNA

REUNION

THINGS. ON OBJECTS AND SIGNS

LISTENING SESSION – A MOMENT IN ECHO PARK

A MOMENT IN ECHO PARK

TOGETHER, ANYWAY III

TOGETHER, ANYWAY II

TOGETHER, ANYWAY I

TOGETHER, ANYWAY

0FF8N0FF – Concerts

0FF8N0FF – Spaces Alive #abstract

IN CASE OF UNCERTAINTY

SERVICE UNAVAILABLE

SHIFTING BASELINES

0FF7N0FF

SINGLE KEYS

DUST TAPE VOICE

0FF6N0FF

WHISPERING MIMICRY

SENA BAŞÖZ
LISA TRUTTMANN

LA VOITURE EMBOURBÉE

FUTURE NOW! —
POLITICS OF DIGITAL MASHINES

FUTURE NOW! —
POLITICS OF DIGITAL MASHINES

PARTY PARTICLES

0FF5N0FF

0FF5N0FF

XX

ESSAY AS A STATE OF MIND

FUTURE NOW! —
BORDER, BARRIER, BARRICADE?

FUTURE NOW! —
BORDER, BARRIER, BARRICADE?

FAST NEW HAUTE, MARGARINE.

KLASSENFAHRT ATHENS

0FF4N0FF

0FF4N0FF

FUTURE NOW! —
THE FUTURE OF WORK

FUTURE NOW! —
THE FUTURE OF WORK

NOTATIONS OF MOVEMENT

GARDEN OF DESIRES

ATHENS @ MEMPHIS

0FF3N0FF

AIRY PHANTOMS

0FF2N0FF

0FF2N0FF

WHAT THE HELL IS UP TO US?

PARALLAXE 12

LONGING IS INCURABLE

PARALLAXE 11

0FF1N0FF

PARALLAXE 10

PRETTY STRAIGHT FORWARD

THE CITY AND ME

WIR SIND DA.ZUMINDEST ERINNERN WIR UNS DARAN.

PARALLAXE 9

IMMUTABLE MOBILES

PARALLAXE 8

PARALLAXE 7

PARALLAXE 6

PARALLAXE 5

PARALLAXE 4

GENERATIONENPFADE – NEREDEN NEREYE

PARALLAXE 3

CONCERT II: PERMANENT EXPEDITION

CONCERT I:PERMANENT EXPEDITION

PERMANENT EXPEDITION

HOHE TÜRME TRIFFT DER BLITZ

PARALLAXE 2

TELEFUNKEN BAJAZZO

SOUNDWWWALK

WITH ANONYMOUS & OTHERS

PARALLAXE 1

ADSR

Memphis Editionen


Ausstellung
23/9 — 2/10 2020
Eröffnung
22/9 2020 19h
Als Ort der offenen Kommunikation und Diskussion bietet der Linzer Kunst- und Projektraum Memphis seit 2014 Künstlerïnnen, Filmemacherïnnen, Theoretikerïnnen und Autorïnnen einen Raum zur kritischen Betrachtung zeitgenössischer Kultur.

Wir freuen uns nun sehr, die ersten exklusiv für Memphis aufgelegten Künstlerïnnen-Editionen von Isabella Auer, Sarah Decristoforo, Rainer Gamsjäger, Robert Müller, Ulrich Nausner und Estefania Peñafiel Loaiza ankündigen zu können. Die Editionen sind als Unterstützung für den Kunstraum Memphis konzipiert und werden käuflich erwerbbar sein.

Isabella Auer ist eine in Linz lebende und arbeitende Medienkünstlerin. Das Interesse an auffällig animierten GIFs und Pixelexplosionen entdeckte sie während ihrer Zeit als Teil des spanischen Künstlerkollektivs „Hungry Castle“. Ihre Arbeiten reichen von Videos und Animationen bis hin zu interaktiven Installationen, oft mit Fokus auf popkulturellen Themen.

In ihren Multimedia- und Textarbeiten analysiert und rekontextualisiert Sarah Decristoforo Ausdrucksformen, Symbolsprachen und Ästhetiken der Alltagskultur und Massenmedien, die über politische und soziale Machtverhältnisse sprechen und dabei bis in intime, teils obszöne Bereiche vordringen.

Rainer Gamsjäger setzt sich in seinen Arbeiten strukturell vor allem mit den Medien Video und Fotografie auseinander. Er dekonstruiert Bildinhalte und zerlegt digitale Bilder in ihre kleinsten Einheiten, um sie mittels Algorithmen neu zu arrangieren und abstrakte Bildinhalte zum Vorschein zu bringen. Als Ausgangsmaterial dienen Gamsjäger dabei ikonische Abbildungen von Schauspielerinnen aus dem „Golden Age“ des Hollywood-Kinos, hochaufgelöste Landschaftsbilder und Aufnahmen von NASA-Weltraumteleskopen.

In Robert Müller Arbeiten werden die Verweise auf die Adaption fremder Handschrift und die Übertragung einer performativen Geste in ein schematisches, instabiles Modell von Identität überführt. Dies führt zur seriellen Anverwandlung der Zeichenpraxis anderer sowie zur Illustration alternativer, fiktiver Lebensläufe als eine Art graphischer Liebesbrief.

Ulrich Nausner beschäftigt sich in seinen konzeptuellen Arbeiten und Installationen mit Wahrnehmungsmustern und Bedeutungszusammenhängen von Information und Sprache in verschiedenen Medien. Seine Werke sind in internationalen Einzel- und Gruppenausstellungen vertreten, er lebt und arbeitet in Wien.

Die Arbeiten von Estefania Peñafiel Loaiza bewegen sich im Spannungsfeld zwischen Sichtbarem und Unsichtbarem, sowie Aneignung und Subversion. Sie arbeitet mit verschiedenen Sprachen und Medien, ausgehend von Veränderungen der eigenen geografischen Verortung, kontextualisiert sie Begriffe wie Territorium, Kartografie, Migration, Grenze, Erinnerung und Geschichte in ihrer künstlerischen Praxis.

Aufgrund der Sicherheitsvorkehrungen zur Eindämmung der Ausbreitung von COVID-19 veranstalten wir kein Eröffnungsfest, sondern laden Sie während des Zeitfensters von 19:00 – 22:00 Uhr in den Kunstraum zu einer Preview vor dem Beginn der offiziellen Laufzeit der Ausstellung ein. Gemäß den ab 21.9.2020 geltenden Verordnungen ist das Betreten des Kunstraums nur für 10 Personen gleichzeitig und ausschließlich mit einem Mund-Nasen-Schutz möglich. Zusätzlich zu den Räumlichkeiten wird der Hinterhof geöffnet sein.

Memphis Light Box Extra

Memphis Editionen

A Centre Cannot Hold — Jason Hendrik Hansma

Memphis Stream: Axel Stockburger

Carrara Corso – Finissage

Carrara Corso

Pas le temps d’être triste

KINE — The Movies Had That Movie Thing

DIVING IN: An Inquiry into Imagery

FRIENDLY FIRE

STUCK KEYS

MEMPHIS at Parallel Vienna

ÜBER KUNST SCHREIBEN

FRAGILE NARRATIVES

LEAN

BELLADONNA

REUNION

THINGS. VON DINGEN UND ZEICHEN

LISTENING SESSION – A MOMENT IN ECHO PARK

A MOMENT IN ECHO PARK

HAUPTSACHE GEMEINSAM III

HAUPTSACHE GEMEINSAM II

HAUPTSACHE GEMEINSAM I

HAUPTSACHE GEMEINSAM

0FF8N0FF – Concerts

0FF8N0FF – Spaces Alive #abstract

IN CASE OF UNCERTAINTY

SERVICE UNAVAILABLE

SHIFTING BASELINES

0FF7N0FF

SINGLE KEYS

DUST TAPE VOICE

0FF6N0FF

WHISPERING MIMICRY

SENA BAŞÖZ
LISA TRUTTMANN

DIE KUTSCHE IM SCHLAMM

ZUKUNFT JETZT! —
POLITIK DER DIGITALEN MASCHINEN

ZUKUNFT JETZT! —
POLITIK DER DIGITALEN MASCHINEN

PARTY PARTICLES

0FF5N0FF

0FF5N0FF

XX

ESSAY AS A STATE OF MIND

ZUKUNFT JETZT! —
GRENZEN, BARRIEREN, BARRIKADEN?

ZUKUNFT JETZT! —
GRENZEN, BARRIEREN, BARRIKADEN?

FAST NUR HAUT, MARGARINE.

KLASSENFAHRT ATHEN

0FF4N0FF

0FF4N0FF

ZUKUNFT JETZT! —
DIE ZUKUNFT DER ARBEIT

ZUKUNFT JETZT! —
DIE ZUKUNFT DER ARBEIT

BEWEGUNGSNOTATIONEN

GARDEN OF DESIRES

ATHENS @ MEMPHIS

0FF3N0FF

WESENLOSE PHANTOME

0FF2N0FF

0FF2N0FF

WHAT THE HELL IS UP TO US?

PARALLAXE 12

SEHNSUCHT IST HEILBAR

PARALLAXE 11

0FF1N0FF

PARALLAXE 10

PRETTY STRAIGHT FORWARD

THE CITY AND ME

WIR SIND DA. ZUMINDEST ERINNERN WIR UNS DARAN.

PARALLAXE 9

IMMUTABLE MOBILES

PARALLAXE 8

PARALLAXE 7

PARALLAXE 6

PARALLAXE 5

PARALLAXE 4

GENERATIONENPFADE – NEREDEN NEREYE

PARALLAXE 3

KONZERT II: PERMANENT EXPEDITION

KONZERT I:PERMANENT EXPEDITION

PERMANENT EXPEDITION

HOHE TÜRME TRIFFT DER BLITZ

PARALLAXE 2

TELEFUNKEN BAJAZZO

SOUNDWWWALK

WITH ANONYMOUS & OTHERS

PARALLAXE 1

ADSR